NUOVO-SOLDATI FOUNDATION FOR CANCER RESEARCH
Research grants in cancer research

separation line
Imprimer cette page
français

Laureates 2013 - 2014

Mr. Etienne DAGUINDAU
Mrs. Ulrike SCHICK
Mrs. Florence RABIAN
Mr. Johan GAGNIERE
Mrs. Emanuela ROMANO
Mr. julien PERON
Mr. Pierre MORDANT
Mr. Daniel NGUYEN

Etienne DAGUINDAU

Title of the project: Identification de nouveaux biomarqueurs éligibles à une thérapie ciblée dans la maladie du greffon contre l'hôte après allogreffe de cellules hématopoïétique pour hémopathie maligne

Place of the training course: Indiana University, Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center
Wells Center for Pediatric Research
1044 W. Walnut Street
Indianapolis, IN, 46202

Summary of the project: Despite beneficial effect of graft-versus-tumor effect, the efficacy of allogeneic stem cell transplantation procedure has been impeded by frequent and severe graft-versus-host disease (GvH). The ability to identify patients at high risk for GvH with biomarkers early in their transplant course has important therapeutic consequences including more stringent monitoring and preemptive interventions.

It has been shown in a control cohort that protein sST2 was expressed early after transplant course and was more elevated in patients who developed GvH. The research project aims to validate the early predictive potential of sST2 on the GvH occurrence and also the 6 month non-relapse mortality. To validate this objective, we will benefit of plasma samples from patients transplanted in two U.S. centers. Beyond the sST2 protein, we will use proteomic techniques to identify other candidate biomarkers with differential levels in pooled plasma samples before therapy initiation for therapy-responsive and unresponsive patients.

The second objective is to inhibit the interaction between sST2 and its only known ligand, as proof-of principle of a drug targetable GvH biomarker. In practice, we use several mice models of GVH to prove that prophylactic infusion of anti-sST2 decreases the severity of GVH (regardless of the murine strain) without altering the antitumor effect of the graft.

Ulrike SCHICK

Title of the project: Investigating the in vitro and in vivo radiosensitising effect of MEK inhibition

Place of the training course: Institute of Cancer Research,
Department: Targeted Therapy Team, Chelsea, London, UK.

Summary of the project: Radiation therapy is now increasingly used in melanoma as adjuvant or palliative therapy. Historically melanoma has been thought to be radioresistant, but recent advances in preclinical and clinical studies have demonstrated that this is no longer the case. However, local control remains suboptimal.
The intracellular Ras-regulated MAP kinase cascase is a key pathway controlling multiple cellular functions (including DNA synthesis, cell cycle, proliferation, differentiation and apoptosis). This pathway is often deregulated and activated in melanoma through somatic mutations of genes encoding Ras and Raf proteins. Within this pathway, mitogen-activated protein kinase kinase (MEK) has been identified as an attractive therapeutic target. Pharmacological manipulation using the recently developed inhibitor Trametinib (a potent and selective inhibitor of MEK1/2), has shown promising results in phase II/III clinical trials.
The objective of this study is to evaluate the preclinical radiosensitsation effects of Trametinib using a panel of clinically relevant melanoma tumour cell lines (WT, Ras/Raf mutated), and optimise strategies to enhance radiation-induced tumour cell kill.

Florence RABIAN

Title of the project: Déterminer la nécessité des voies dépendantes de MLL pour l'initiation et la maintenance des leucémies aiguës lymphoblastiques T

Place of the training course:Ernst Laboratory
Department of Genetics
Geisel School of Medecine at Dartmouth
http://geiselmed.dartmouth.edu/ernst/


Summary of the project: Leukemia often starts with chromosomal breakage, resulting in mutations that cause blood cells to grow in an uncontrollable manner. The MLL1 (Mixed Lineage Leukemia) gene is frequently mutated by chromosomal breakage in childhood leukemia. Conventional chemotherapy is not effective at curing this type of leukemia, with most patients relapsing with incurable disease. Using animal models, members of the Ernst lab have shown that the normal (wild-type) mouse MLL1 protein is also essential for maintaining the growth of all blood cells. They have discovered that the role that MLL1 plays in maintaining blood cell growth involves a particular network of genes, and that this network differs very slightly from the network of genes that are altered in leukemia cells. Therefore, we will investigate how broadly NOTCH1 and other leukemia oncogenes use the MLL1 network to propagate themselves at the expense of the normal blood cells.
The aim of this study is to determine the requirement of MLL1 dependent pathways in initiating and maintaining a pathologic self-renewal program in leukemia initiating cells.
The information gained in the course of completing these experiments will be of fundamental importance for understanding how leukaemia and possibly other non-hematologic cancers propagate themselves and epigenetically adjust to evade chemotherapy. This analysis will especially identify genetic pathways that can be targeted to treat leukemia, without damaging other developing tissues, which is particularly relevant for young patients.

Johan GAGNIERE

Title of the project:Role of Escherichia coli strains in colonic carcinogenesis: Involvement of oxidative stress

Place of the training course:

Summary of the project: Studies reported that some bacteria, as pathogen Escherichia coli, could be involved in colonic carcinogenesis by induction of oxidative stress. Oxidative stress is defined as an imbalance between production of reactive oxygen species (ROS) and efficiency of antioxidant systems. This imbalance often leads to cell damages involved in carcinogenesis. In a preliminary study, we reported the abnormal colonization of the gut mucosa of colorectal cancers (CRC) patients by pathogenic strains of Escherichia coli (E. coli-CRC). These strains might be involved in colonic carcinogenesis by both production of ROS and by alteration of some antioxidant systems such as DNA repair pathways. These changes could lead to an accumulation of mutations involved in the adenoma-cancer sequence. The effect of bacteria on antioxidant systems has not been well reported. Therefore, aim of this work is to study: 1) the induction and monitoring of ROS in intestinal cells infected with different strains of E. coli-CRC, 2) the modulation of antioxidant systems focusing on DNA repair pathways in cells infected with these pathogenic strains. Experiments will be performed on in vitro models, on a CRC mice models (APCmin/+ mice) and specimens of colonic mucosa and tumor from CRC patients.
This study will allow better understanding of host-bacteria interactions during colonic carcinogenesis, and might finally help to develop new therapeutic strategies targeting bacterial colonization and/or antioxidant systems.

Emanuela ROMANO

Title of the project: Comprehensive evaluation of the endogenous immunity and the microenvironment in peripheral blood and tissues derived from human malignancies.

Place of the training course:Service d'Oncologie
Département d'Oncologie
Centre Hospitalière Universitaire Vaudois
Lausanne, Suisse

Summary of the project: The immune system has evolved to allow robust responses against pathogens, while avoiding autoimmunity. This is notably enabled by stimulatory and inhibitory signals, which contribute to the regulation of immune responses. The over-expression of inhibitory receptors has been associated to T-cell exhaustion in cancer patients. Several evidences both in vitro and in vivo suggest that this anergic state can be reverted by blocking the interactions between co-inhibitory molecules and their ligands. The main goal of this proposal is to comprehensively profile immune cells as well as cells from the tumor microenvironment of patients with malignant diseases, in particular melanoma and gastro-intestinal tumors for the expression of molecules that inhibit or activate an endogenous anti-tumor immunity as well as to characterize the tumor microenvironment at a cellular level. The proposed axis of investigation has significant clinical potential in that targeting immune suppression mechanisms represents a promising approach for reversing tumor immune escape and enabling protective immunity. .

julien PERON

Title of the project: Using generalized pairwise comparisons to assess the benefit / risk ratio of a new treatment in medical oncology

Place of the training course:Laboratoire Biostatistique Sante, UCBL Equipe de l'UMR CNRS 5558
Centre Hospitalier Lyon Sud - Bâtiment 4 D
165 Chemin du Grand Revoyet 69495 PIERRE BENITE CEDEX


Summary of the project: The purpose of the present project is to use generalized pairwise comparisons to analyse data from randomized clinical trials in medical oncology in order to decide which variables are the more pertinent primary endpoints depending on their surrogacy potential for clinical endpoints. Then, the method proposed here makes it possible to compare two samples in terms of several outcome measures, such as benefit and risk endpoints, simultaneously. Hence the benefit / risk ratio of interventions would be assessable.
We will use analytic methods, simulations and real datasets to evaluate the performance of this method in several clinical research situations. Thanks to collaboration with the National Cancer Institute of Canada and with several European collaborative clinical research groups, we will access to data of randomized clinical trials in medical oncology.

Pierre MORDANT

Title of the project:Epithelial regeneration during ex vivo lung perfusion

Place of the training course:Latner Thoracic Surgery Research Laboratories,
Toronto General Hospital,
Toronto, Canada

Summary of the project: Bronchioloalveolar carcinoma is a particular subgroup of non-small cell lung cancer characterized by superficial alveolar and septal extension, leading to respiratory failure without metastatic spread. In the past, some patients with bronchioloalveolar carcinoma have benefited from lung transplantation, but recurrences have been observed on the graft, and the technique has been tentatively discouraged. Since then, the disappointing results of medical treatments, the acceptable long-term outcome of transplantation, and a recent increase in graft availability argue for the reappraisal of lung transplantation as a treatment of advanced bronchioloalveolar carcinoma. As a first step, we sought to study epithelial regeneration during ex vivo lung perfusion.

Daniel NGUYEN

Title of the project: Development of a novel monoclonal Antibody-Drug-Conjugate targeting Prostate-Specific Membrane Antigen for the treatment of prostate cancer

Place of the training course:Laboratory of Urological Oncology and Prostate Cancer Research Center
Cornell University/Weill Medical College
New York, Etats-Unis

Summary of the project: Therapeutic modalities for castration-resistant prostate cancer remain unsatisfactory. In this context, targeted therapy of prostate cancer has gained increasing interest and novel antibody-based therapies are under investigation. Among them are prostate-specific membrane antigen (PSMA)-targeted therapies. PSMA is a very well defined, highly restricted prostate cancer cell-surface antigen. It is a membrane protein that is not secreted, expressed by virtually all prostate cancer cells and upregulated in advanced disease, becoming greatest in castration-resistant and metastatic prostate cancers. Antibody-drug conjugates (ADC) take advantage of monoclonal antibody specificity to selectively deliver their attached drug only to cells expressing the target antigen. The monoclonal antibody huJ591was developed in the laboratory of urological oncology at Cornell University. It binds PSMA with nanomolar affinity. In a clinical trial investigating an ADC that combined huJ591 with the drug maytansine, partial clinical (RECIST criteria) and PSA-responses were observed. Our goal is to develop an even more effective (cytotoxic) and less toxic ADC for the treatment of prostate cancer. We will use ADCs based on huJ591 and a drug of the anthracycline family, 100-1000-fold more potent than doxorubicin. A series of in-vitro experiments and tests on xenograft models will be performed. A final generation of ADCs will be prepared based on all the available data.

FONDATION POUR LA RECHERCHE NUOVO-SOLDATI
BOURSES de RECHERCHE en CANCÉROLOGIE

separation line
Imprimer cette page
english

Lauréats 2013 - 2014

Monsieur Etienne DAGUINDAU
Madame Ulrike SCHICK
Madame Florence RABIAN
Monsieur Johan GAGNIERE
Madame Emanuela ROMANO
Monsieur julien PERON
Monsieur Pierre MORDANT
Monsieur Daniel NGUYEN

Etienne DAGUINDAU

Titre du projet: Identification de nouveaux biomarqueurs éligibles à une thérapie ciblée dans la maladie du greffon contre l'hôte après allogreffe de cellules hématopoïétique pour hémopathie maligne

Lieu du projet: Indiana University, Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center
Wells Center for Pediatric Research
1044 W. Walnut Street
Indianapolis, IN, 46202

Résumé du projet de recherche: La réaction du greffon contre l'hôte (GvH) reste aujourd'hui une cause majeure de morbidité/mortalité après l'allogreffe de cellules hématopoïétiques. Les outils de diagnostic de GvH actuels sont peu reproductibles et ont peu de valeur pronostique sur le devenir des patients. Ainsi le développement de biomarqueurs fiables de GvH apparait une thématique de recherche innovante et riche d'applications cliniques.

Des travaux préliminaires ont montré, dans une cohorte témoin, que la protéine sST2 était exprimée précocement chez l'homme après l'allogreffe et que sa concentration était plus importante chez les patients développant une GvH. Le projet de recherche vise à valider le potentiel prédictif de la protéine sST2 sur la survenue de GvH et aussi sur la mortalité non liée à la rechute à 6 mois post-greffe. Pour valider cet objectif, nous disposons d'échantillons de patients greffés dans 2 centres américains. Outre cette protéine sST2, nous utiliserons les techniques de protéomiques développées par le laboratoire pour mettre en évidence d'autres protéines porteuses d'un potentiel prédictif de GvH chez l'homme.

Le second objectif du projet est de valider le concept qu'un biomarqueur de GvH peut être éligible à une approche de thérapie ciblée. En pratique, nous utiliserons plusieurs modèles murins de GvH pour prouver que la perfusion prophylactique d'anticorps anti-sST2 diminue la gravité de la GvH (indépendamment de la lignée murine utilisée) sans altérer l'effet anti-tumoral du greffon.

Ulrike SCHICK

Titre du projet: Modulation pharmacologique de la radiosensibilité tumorale des mélanomes par inhibition de MEK

Lieu du projet:Institute of Cancer Research,
Département: Targeted Therapy Team, Chelsea, Londres, Royaume-Uni.

Résumé du projet de recherche: La radiothérapie est de plus en plus largement utilisée dans la prise en charge du mélanome, que ce soit en situation adjuvante, métastatique, ou en présence de tumeurs d'emblée irrésécables. Cependant, le contrôle local obtenu par la radiothérapie seule demeure sous-optimal.
La voie de signalisation MAPK, laquelle joue un rôle primordial dans la régulation de la prolifération, de la survie, et de la différenciation cellulaire, est anormalement activée dans de nombreux mélanomes de par la survenue de mutations somatiques, intéressant notamment les gènes codant pour les protéines Ras et Raf. L'inhibiteur allostérique sélectif de MEK1/2, le Trametinib est une molécule prometteuse ayant déjà fait l'objet d'études cliniques de phase II /III. L'objectif de ce travail est de déterminer le bénéfice éventuel du Trametinib in vitro et in vivo en association avec la radiothérapie sur des lignées cellulaires humaines de mélanomes.
Dans ce but, on déterminera le profil biologique et la cytotoxicité du Trametinib sur un panel de lignées cellulaires de mélanomes sauvages et mutées pour Ras ou Raf. On étudiera le bénéfice de cet inhibiteur de MEK en association avec la radiothérapie par essais clonogéniques et l'on cherchera à établir les mécanismes à l'origine de la radiosensibilisation par analyse du cycle cellulaire, de la réparation de l'ADN et de la mort cellulaire.

Florence RABIAN

Titre du projet:Déterminer la nécessité des voies dépendantes de MLL pour l'initiation et la maintenance des leucémies aiguës lymphoblastiques T

Lieu du projet:Ernst Laboratory
Department of Genetics
Geisel School of Medecine at Dartmouth
http://geiselmed.dartmouth.edu/ernst/


Résumé du projet de recherche: Le gène MLL1 (Mixed Lineage Leukemia) est fréquemment muté par cassures chromosomiques dans les leucémies de l'enfant, entraînant des maladies très peu sensibles à la chimiothérapie conventionnelle, rechutant la plupart du temps sous forme de maladies incurables.
Les membres du laboratoire du Pr Ernst ont déjà étudié le gène MLL1 en utilisant des modèles animaux et ont montré que la protéine MLL1 sauvage est essentielle pour le maintien de la croissance cellulaire. Celle-ci implique un réseau de gènes ne différant que légèrement de ceux altérés dans les cellules leucémiques. Nous allons donc étudier à quel point les oncogènes leucémiques et en particulier NOTCH1 utilisent le réseau de MLL1 pour se propager aux dépends des cellules normales du sang. L'objectif de cette étude sera de déterminer le rôle des voies dépendantes de MLL1, dans l'initiation et le maintien d'un programme pathologique d'auto-renouvellement dans les cellules souches leucémiques.
Les résultats des expériences effectuées seront d'une extrême importance pour la compréhension de la façon dont les leucémies et d'autres cancers non hématologiques s'auto-propagent et s'adaptent épigénétiquement pour échapper à la chimiothérapie. Cette étude permettra en particulier d'identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques pour le traitement des leucémies, sans endommager les tissus en cours de développement, ce qui est particulièrement pertinent chez les jeunes patients.

Johan GAGNIERE

Titre du projet:Rôle de souches de Escherichia coli dans la carcinogénèse colique : implication du stress oxydant

Lieu du projet:

Résumé du projet de recherche: Le tube digestif est hautement colonisé par des bactéries et différentes études montrent que certains types bactériens, dont Escherichia coli, seraient impliqués dans le développement du cancer colorectal (CCR) via l'induction d'un stress oxydant. Le stress oxydant se définit comme un déséquilibre entre la quantité de molécules réactives de l'oxygène (ROS) et l'efficacité des systèmes de défense. Ce déséquilibre a pour conséquence l'apparition de dommages cellulaires, souvent irréversibles, qui jouent un rôle dans la carcinogenèse. Nos travaux préliminaires ont montré une colonisation anormale de la muqueuse de patients atteints de CCR par des souches de E. coli pathogènes (E. coli-CCR). Ces bactéries pourraient agir dans la carcinogenèse colique par la production excessive de ROS et par altération des défenses anti-oxydantes comme les voies de réparation de l'ADN, ce qui augmenterait la susceptibilité des cellules intestinales à l'accumulation de mutations décrites dans la séquence adénome-cancer. Cette action des bactéries sur les défenses anti-oxydantes étant peu étudiée, nous étudierons: 1) l'induction des ROS dans les cellules intestinales infectées en fonction des caractéristiques des souches E. coli-CCR, 2) la modulation des défenses anti-oxydantes et de la réparation de l'ADN des cellules infectées par ces souches. Ces travaux seront réalisés dans des modèles in vitro, des modèles murins et à l'aide d'une banque de prélèvements de patients, réalisée avec les cliniciens du service de Chirurgie digestive (Pr Pezet) du CHU de Clermont-Ferrand.
Ce projet de recherche permettra de mieux comprendre le dialogue hôtes-bactéries lors de la cancérogenèse colique. Enfin les résultats devraient permettre de développer de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques en ciblant la colonisation bactérienne et/ou les défenses anti-oxydantes.

Emanuela ROMANO

Titre du projet: Évaluation de l'immunité endogène et du microenvironnement dans le sang périphérique et les tissus provenant de tumeurs malignes humaines.

Lieu du projet:Service d'Oncologie
Département d'Oncologie
Centre Hospitalière Universitaire Vaudois
Lausanne, Suisse

Résumé du projet de recherche: Le système immunitaire a évolué pour permettre des réponses robustes contre les pathogènes, tout en évitant l'auto-immunité. Celui-ci est notamment modulé par des signaux activateurs et inhibiteurs, qui contribuent à la régulation des réponses immunitaires. Une haute expression de récepteurs inhibiteurs a été associée à l'épuisement des cellules T chez les patients cancéreux. Plusieurs observations in vitro et in vivo suggèrent que cet état anergique peut être reversé en bloquant les interactions entre les molécules co-inhibitrices (exprimées par les cellules immunitaires) et leurs ligands (exprimés par les cellules tumorales). L'objectif principal de cette étude est la caractérisation du profil des cellules immunitaires, ainsi que des cellules du microenvironnement des tumeurs humaines, en particulier le mélanome et les tumeurs gastro-intestinales pour l'expression de molécules qui inhibent ou activent une réponse immunitaire endogène. L'axe d'investigation présente un potentiel clinique, car le blocage des mécanismes de suppression immunitaire représente une approche prometteuse pour limiter l'échappement au contrôle immunitaire par la tumeur tout en favorisant une immunité protectrice.

julien PERON

Titre du projet: Utilisations des comparaisons par paires avec priorités adaptées à la recherche clinique en cancérologie

Lieu du projet:Laboratoire Biostatistique Sante, UCBL Equipe de l'UMR CNRS 5558
Centre Hospitalier Lyon Sud - Bâtiment 4 D
165 Chemin du Grand Revoyet 69495 PIERRE BENITE CEDEX


Résumé du projet de recherche: Développement d'une méthode d'analyse biostatistique adaptée aux essais randomisés permettant d'évaluer la pertinence d'utiliser les divers critères de jugements potentiels en fonction de leur potentiel substitutif des critères cliniques. La deuxième partie de la méthode permet d'analyser de façon conjointe les différents critères de jugement retenus afin d'évaluer globalement l'efficacité d'un traitement et d'évaluer la balance bénéfice risque. Nous utiliserons des approches analytiques, des données simulées et des données réelles pour évaluer les performances de cette approche dans des situations diverses de recherche clinique. Une collaboration avec le National Cancer Institute of Canada et avec des groupes collaboratifs de recherche clinique européens permettra d'appliquer la méthode sur des données réelles d'essais randomisés.

Pierre MORDANT

Titre du projet: Etude de la régénération épithéliale au cours du reconditionnement ex vivo des greffons pulmonaires.

Lieu du projet:Latner Thoracic Surgery Research Laboratories,
Toronto General Hospital,
Toronto, Canada

Résumé du projet de recherche: L'adénocarcinome mucineux à extension lépidique est un cancer bronchique primitif caractérisé par une extension septale et alvéolaire menant à l'insuffisance respiratoire sans maladie métastatique. Par le passé, certains de ces patients ont pu bénéficier de transplantations pulmonaires, mais des récidives étaient observées sur le greffon, discréditant temporairement cette technique. Depuis, la faible efficacité des traitements médicaux, les bons résultats tardifs de la greffe, et l'augmentation du nombre de greffons pulmonaires dans le cadre des programmes de reconditionnement de greffons plaident pour une réévaluation de la transplantation en traitement de l'adénocarcinome mucineux à extension lépidique. En préalable, ce projet a pour but l'étude de la régénération épithéliale au cours du reconditionnement ex vivo des greffons pulmonaires.

Daniel NGUYEN

Titre du projet: Développement d'un nouveau conjugué anticorps-médicament visant l'antigène membranaire spécifique de la prostate dans le traitement du cancer de la prostate

Lieu du projet:Laboratory of Urological Oncology and Prostate Cancer Research Center
Cornell University/Weill Medical College
New York, Etats-Unis

Résumé du projet de recherche: La thérapie du cancer de la prostate hormonorésistant reste insatisfaisante. Dans ce contexte, les thérapies ciblées offrent de nouvelles perspectives. Parmi elles, on trouve les thérapies par anticorps monoclonaux ciblant l'antigène membranaire spécifique de la prostate (prostate-specific membrane antigen, PSMA). Le PSMA est une protéine membranaire qui n'est pas sécrétée, qui est exprimée par pratiquement toutes les cellules prostatiques cancéreuses et qui est hyper-régulée dans le cancer avancé. Les conjugués anticorps-médicament (antibody-drug conjugates, ADC) utilisent la spécificité des anticorps monoclonaux pour livrer sélectivement le médicament aux cellules-cibles. L'anticorps monoclonal huJ591 a été développé dans le laboratoire d'urologie oncologique de l'Université de Cornell. Il possède une affinité nanomolaire avec le PSMA. Un ADC combinant huJ591 à la maytansine a conduit à des réponses cliniques (critères RECIST) et biochimiques (PSA) partielles. Notre projet aspire à mettre au point un médicament à la fois plus efficace et moins toxique contre le cancer de la prostate. Nous utiliserons des ADCs basés sur huJ591 et un agent de la famille des anthracyclines, 100 à 1000 fois plus puissant que la doxorubicine. Une série de tests in vitro puis sur des modèles xenograft seront effectués. Une génération finale d'ADCs sera préparée sur la base des résultats obtenus.