NUOVO-SOLDATI FOUNDATION FOR CANCER RESEARCH
Research grants in cancer research

separation line
Imprimer cette page
français

Laureates 2019 - 2020

Jebrane BOUAOUD
Marco Mateo BUEHLER
Benoit CAMELLI-ROUSSEAU
Romain COHEN
Déborah MEYRAN
Remco MOLENAAR
Edouard OLLIER
David SCHROEDER

Jebrane BOUAOUD

Title of the project: Evaluation of a DNA-mediated adjuvant immunotherapy for the prevention of oral cancer development

Place of the training course: Service de Chirurgie Maxillo-Faciale et Stomatologie,
Centre Hospitalo-Universitaire Pitié-Salpêtrière,
APHP, Paris 75013

.

Summary of the project: Oral squamous cell carcinoma (OSCC), which may develop from oral premalignant lesion (OPL), have high mortality and morbidity. There is currently no therapeutic strategy to prevent this malignant transformation. In this aim, immunoprevention strategies are attractive. We propose to evaluate the efficacy of a non-specific DNA vaccine (pVAX14) associated to the active metabolite of vitamin A (ATRA), to decrease the incidence of OSCC in the 4-NQO murine model of oral tumorigenesis. Mice will be randomized in 4 groups: control, pVAX14 alone, ATRA alone and pVAX14 + ATRA. We will evaluate the vaccine-based strategy effect on OSCC incidence. We will then evaluate i-the in situ immune infiltrate by immunohistochemistry, ii-the peripheral blood immune response (memory T-cell, cytokine and antibodies production) and iii-gene expression profiles of OSCC or dysplasia arising in mice included in all groups. We aim to demonstrate that a non-specific DNA vaccine strategy reduces the incidence of OSCC in a relevant model of oral tumorigenesis, by increasing the pre-existing immune response

Marco Mateo BUEHLER

Title of the project: The genomic landscape and tumoral heterogeneity of mantle cell lymphoma

Place of the training course: Institut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer (IDIBAPS) et Unité de Hematopathologie,
Hospital Clínic de Barcelona,
Barcelona, Espagne

.

Summary of the project: Mantle cell lymphoma is a mature B-cell lymphoma with an adverse prognosis. Response to therapy is often short, despite intensive chemotherapy regimens, highlighting the need to investigate therapy targets and therapy resistance mechanisms. In addition, a subset of patients have indolent forms of the disease (e.g. leukemic non nodal mantle cell lymphoma) and need to be confidently diagnosed in order to prevent unnecessary therapy related morbidity and mortality. The first aim of the study is to investigate the genomic landscape of the different forms of mantle cell lymphoma using next generation sequencing techniques to delineate the genome, transcriptome and regulatory mechanisms (WGS, RNA-seq, ChIP-seq, ATAC-seq). The second aim is to determine the intratumoral heterogeneity and its relevance by investigating the clonal architecture of mantle cell lymphoma using ultra-deep targeted sequencing.

Benoit CAMELLI-ROUSSEAU

Title of the project: Hypermutagenesis in low TMB colorectal cancers to induce response to immune checkpoints inhibitors

Place of the training course: Luis Diaz' Lab
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center,
NCI-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center 300 East 66th Street,
New York, NY 10065, USA

.

Summary of the project: Next generation immunotherapy efficacy in colorectal cancer is limited to hypermutated tumors deficient in mismatch repair (d-MMR). Nevertheless, Polymérase E exonucleasic domain mutation in CRC is also responsible of an hypermutated phenotype in proficient Mismatch Repair (p-MMR) tumors and may also benefit from immune checkpoints blockade. Tumor Mutation Burden (TMB) is a complex measure of non synonymous mutation rate in cancer and is correlated with the quantity of neoantigens.
Hypermutability determinants in colorectal cancer remains poorly understood. The identification of genes implicated in the onset of hyper/ultramutated phenotypes could allow to identify new therapeutic targets with the aim to pharmacologically modulate these drivers of hypermutation to induce a rapid genetic drift. Hypermutagenesis in low TMB tumors could be an innovative therapeutic tool favoring the onset of tumoral neoantigens and restoring the activity immune checkpoints colorectal cancers which are currently refractory to these treatments.

Romain COHEN

Title of the project: BRAF mutation in metastatic colorectal cancer and evaluation of the time dependency of its prognostic impact : an exploratory analysis of the ARCAD database

Place of the training course: Unité de biostatistique (team leader: Qian Shi),
Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minnesota, USA)

.

Summary of the project: BRAFV600E mutation is observed in approximately 8% of metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) and is associated with poor prognosis. Only one third of BRAF-mutated mCRC patients is treated with a second-line chemotherapy. Therapeutic strategy consists on cytotoxic compounds combined antiangiogenics or anti-EGFR agents. Nevertheless the efficacy of these two targeted therapies has never been properly demonstrated.
Our project will focus on the clinical characterization of BRAF-mutated mCRC patients and on the efficacy of antiangiogenics and anti-EGFR agents. The prognosis of this specific population being heterogeneous, we will also assess the time dependancy of BRAFV600E mutation prognostic value. We will expand this analysis to the other main biomarkers in mCRC (KRAS and NRAS mutation) in mCRC and explore the potential prognostic impact of time from diagnostic of metastatic disease to third-line treatment initiation in the context of clinical trials.
This project will be performed on the ARCAD database, that is managed by the biostatistic unic of Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minnesota, USA) and that integrates individual patient-level data from a large collection of phase 3 clinical trials in mCRC (> 40,000 mCRC patients).

Déborah MEYRAN

Title of the project: Designing new CARs to enhance cancer immunotherapy in pediatric cancers

Place of the training course: Paul Neeson’s laboratory,
Human Immunology Translational Lab in Cancer immunology Research at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre,
Melbourne.

.

Summary of the project: Adopting cell transfer is demonstrating exciting potential for cancer treatment. But refractory solid tumors remain an ongoing clinical problem with significant morbidity and mortality. CAR T cell therapy has the potential to address this issue. However, in contrast to their success in B cell malignancies, CAR T cell therapy targeting solid cancer and AML has had limited success so far. We developed two different new CARs recognizing the tumour antigens LeY and GRP78. LeY is highly expressed in various solid tumors but appears to have only limited expression on the surface of normal tissues making this antigen an ideal target for cancer immunotherapy. GRP78 is shuttled to the cell surface on cancer cells under stress/hypoxic conditions and its expression is highly correlated with tumor progression. We generated two novel CARs, comprising the anti-LeY single chain variable fragment (scFv) or the GRP78 scFv and a CD34 detection marker. We then successfully transduced primary human T cells with the anti-LeY CAR or anti-GRP78 CAR and positive cells were sorted using the CD34 marker. After sorting, the majority of the T cells (>90%) were double positive for the anti-LeY/GRP78 CAR and CD34. The CAR-T cells were found to secrete high levels of interferon ? and TNFa following direct stimulation through the CAR or LeY+/GRP78 + tumor targets. The CAR T cells also specifically killed LeY+/GRP78+ tumor cells but not LeY-/GRP78- targets cells indicating a LeY /GRP78 antigen-dependent effect. The preliminary results of the staining of paediatric tumours show an expression of LeY in paediatric AML, and GRP78 in AML, neuroblastoma and brain tumours so we will first test the efficacy of our new CAR-T cells in these tumor models. Furthermore, this innovative tracking system with the CD34 marker will allow better characterisation and monitoring of the infused CAR-T cells in vivo in preclinical mouse models and in patients.

Remco MOLENAAR

Title of the project: Forcing glioblastoma stem cells out of stem cell niches to increase radiotherapy responses: no place to hide

Place of the training course: Institut national de biologie,
Ljubljana, Slovénie

.

Summary of the project: Glioblastoma is the most aggressive brain tumour that is notoriously resistant to chemotherapy or radiotherapy. A key determinant of glioblastoma therapy resistance are glioblastoma stem cells, which are protected from therapy by their direct environments, also called glioblastoma stem cell niches. Glioblastoma tumours are highly effective in keeping their glioblastoma stem cells inside these protective niches during therapy by secreting molecules that bind to glioblastoma stem cells. The ultimate goal of my research project is to develop a novel targeted treatment that forces the glioblastoma stem cells out of their protective niches during radiotherapy and chemotherapy to improve the clinical outcomes of glioblastoma patients.

Edouard OLLIER

Title of the project: Extension of network meta-analysis methods to individual survival data : application in head and neck cancer

Place of the training course: Unité de recherche clinique,
CHU de Saint Etienne
équipe Oncostat Inserm U1018

.

Summary of the project: Meta-analyzes of randomized trials are recognized as providing the highest level of evidence. The classic meta-analysis approach to summary data has some limitations inherent to the lack of access to individual data making the meta-analysis of individual data the method of reference. The same is true for the network meta-analysis, which aims to compare more than 2 treatments. Although well developed for the analysis of continuous or binary judgments criteria, network meta-analysis of individual survival data has been little studied. This observation is due to algorithmic difficulties that are at the origin of a prohibitive computation time incompatible with the analysis of complex networks as found in current practice. The goal of this project is to develop a fast and easy-to-use individual data meta-analysis algorithm. The proposed method will be applied to the comparison of therapeutic strategies in head and neck cancers.

David SCHROEDER

Title of the project: Studying mechanisms of tumor hyperprogression in patients with metastatic cancer treated with PD-1 blockade.

Place of the training course: Cliniques universitaires Saint Luc,
Bruxelles,
Belgique

.

Summary of the project: Cancer immunotherapy, in particular through blockade of the PD-1 inhibitory pathway, is now a treatment option for patients with various types of advanced cancer. Hyperprogressive disease (HPD), an early and fast disease progression, has been observed in patients treated with PD-1 blockade across several cancer types and HPD is associated with reduced survival. Intriguingly, its mechanisms are unknown. My project pursues two objectives. First, I will validate HPD in patients treated with immunotherapy, its association with decreased survival and its increased frequency in patients treated with PD-1 blockade. Second, I will explore potential mechanisms of HPD.

FONDATION POUR LA RECHERCHE NUOVO-SOLDATI
BOURSES de RECHERCHE en CANCÉROLOGIE

separation line
Imprimer cette page
english

Lauréats 2019 - 2020

Jebrane BOUAOUD
Marco Mateo BUEHLER
Benoit CAMELLI-ROUSSEAU
Romain COHEN
Déborah MEYRAN
Remco MOLENAAR
Edouard OLLIER
David SCHROEDER

Jebrane BOUAOUD

Titre du projet: évaluation d’une immunothérapie adjuvante à médiée par l’ADN pour la prévention du développement des carcinome épidermoïde oraux

Lieu du projet: Service de Chirurgie Maxillo-Faciale et Stomatologie,
Centre Hospitalo-Universitaire Pitié-Salpêtrière,
APHP, Paris 75013

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: Les carcinomes épidermoïdes de la cavité orale (CECO) peuvent se développer à partir de lésion orale prémaligne (LOPM) et présentent une morbi-mortalité élevée. Il n'existe actuellement aucune stratégie thérapeutique pour prévenir cette transformation maligne. Dans cet objectif, les stratégies d'immuno-prévention sont attrayantes. Nous proposons d'évaluer l'efficacité d'un vaccin à ADN non spécifique (pVAX14) associé au métabolite actif de la vitamine A (ATRA), afin de diminuer l'incidence des CECO dans le modèle murin 4-NQO de tumorigenèse orale. Les souris seront randomisées en 4 groupes : témoin, pVAX14 seul, ATRA seul et pVAX14 + ATRA. Nous évaluerons l'effet de la stratégie vaccinale sur l'incidence des CECO. Nous évaluerons ensuite i-l'infiltrat immunitaire in situ par immunohistochimie, ii-la réponse immunitaire du sang périphérique (production de cellules T à mémoire, de cytokines et d'anticorps) et iii-les profils d'expression du génique des dysplasies ou CECO observées chez les souris de tous les groupes. Nous aimerions démontrer que cette stratégie de vaccin à ADN non spécifique réduit l'incidence des CECO dans ce modèle pertinent de tumorigenèse orale, en augmentant la réponse immunitaire préexistante.

Marco Mateo BUEHLER

Titre du projet: Génome et hétérogénéité tumorale du lymphome du manteau

Lieu du projet: Institut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer (IDIBAPS) et Unité de Hematopathologie,
Hospital Clínic de Barcelona,
Barcelona, Espagne

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: Le lymphome du manteau est une néoplasie maligne des lymphocytes B avec un pronostic très défavorable. La réponse aux traitements est souvent seulement brève, malgré des schémas de chimiothérapie intensifs. Il existe donc une nécessité clinique d’investiguer nouvelle thérapie ciblée et de déterminer les mécanismes de résistance aux traitements. De plus, une partie des patients ont une forme cliniquement indolente de la maladie (par exemple les lymphomes du manteau leucémiques) ; cette fourchette de patients doit être reconnue de manière prompte afin d’éviter une chimiothérapie intensive. Le premier but de l’étude est de caractériser au niveau moléculaire les différentes formes du lymphome du manteau en utilisant des techniques de séquençage de nouvelle génération (WGS, RNA-seq, ChIP-seq, ATAC-seq) pour déterminer le génome, le transcriptome et les caractéristiques épigénétiques. Le deuxième but est d’investiguer la présence et l’importance de l’hétérogénéité intratumorale en utilisant une approche de ultra-deep targeted sequencing.

Benoit CAMELLI-ROUSSEAU

Titre du projet: Hypermutagénèse dans les cancers colorectaux à faible charge mutationnelle pour induire une réponse aux inhibiteurs de points de contrôle immunitaire

Lieu du projet: Luis Diaz' Lab
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center,
NCI-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center 300 East 66th Street,
New York, NY 10065, USA

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: L’efficacité de l’immunothérapie dans le cancer colorectal métastatique reste limitée aux tumeurs à profil immunologique hypermuté avec déficience en réparation des mésappariements (d-MMR). Néanmoins, il semble que des tumeurs dites proficientes (p-MMR) puisse aussi répondre à ces stratégies innovantes dans un contexte de mutation de la polymérase E résultant en un phénotype hypermuté, mesuré par la charge mutationnelle ou Tumor Mutation Burden (TMB), correlé avec la quantité de néoantigènes présentées par la tumeur.
Les déterminants de l’hypermutabilité des cancers colorectaux restent méconnus. L’identification des gènes impliqués dans l’acquisition de ces phénotypes hyper/ultramutés pourrait permettre de mettre en évidence de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques dont la modulation pharmacologique aurait pour conséquence d’entrainer une dérive génétique rapide des tumeurs. L’induction d’une hypermutagénèse dans des tumeurs paucimutées serait un outil thérapeutique innovant dans le but de favoriser l’émergence de néoantigènes tumoraux et de restaurer l’activité des thérapies ciblant les immune checkpoints dans le cancer colorectal p-MMR qui y sont actuellement réfractaires.

Romain COHEN

Titre du projet: Caractérisation clinique des patients avec un cancer colorectal métastatique mutés BRAF et évaluation du caractère temps-dépendant de l'impact pronostique de la mutation V600E de BRAF : une analyse exploratoire de la base de données ARCAD

Lieu du projet: Unité de biostatistique (team leader: Qian Shi),
Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minnesota, USA)

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: La mutation V600E du gène BRAF est retrouvée dans 8% des cancers colorectaux métastatiques (CCRm) et est associée à un pronostic défavorable. Seul un tiers des patients avec un CCRm BRAF muté accèdent à une 2e ligne de chimiothérapie. Le traitement de ces patients repose sur la chimiothérapie conventionnelle, les anti-angiogéniques et les agents ciblant l’EGFR, l’efficacité de ces deux dernières classes thérapeutiques n’étant néanmoins pas démontrée spécifiquement pour les CCRm BRAF-mutés.
Le 1er axe de notre travail s’intéressera à l’étude des patients avec un CCRm BRAF-muté et à l’efficacité des antiangiogéniques et anti-EGFR chez cette population. Le pronostic associé à BRAFV600E étant hétérogène, notre 2e axe de travail aura pour objectif d’évaluer le caractère « temps-dépendant » de la valeur pronostique de BRAFV600E ; nous élargirons cette thématique aux autres biomarqueurs pronostiques du CCRm (mutations de KRAS et NRAS) pour explorer la survie en situation métastatique avant initiation d’un traitement comme nouveau paramètre pronostique pour les essais thérapeutiques de 3e ligne ou plus. Ce travail sera réalisé grâce à la mégabase de données ARCAD, hébergée et managée par la Mayo Clinic (Minnesota, Etats-Unis), qui agrège les données individuelles des patients avec un CCRm inclus dans les essais cliniques randomisés de l’ère moderne (> 40.000 patients).

Déborah MEYRAN

Titre du projet: Nouvelles CAR-T cells pour une immunothérapie efficace dans les cancers pédiatriques

Lieu du projet: Laboratoire du A/Pr Paul Neeson’s,
Human Immunology Translational Lab in Cancer immunology Research au Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre,
Melbourne.

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: L’immunothérapie est un des axes les plus prometteurs de la recherche actuelle en cancérologie. Il est désormais possible de modifier des lymphocytes T d’un patient avec un récepteur chimérique d’antigène (CARs) et de générer ainsi des lymphocytes T réactifs. Ceci permet une application à un plus grand nombre de patients aux tumeurs de nature différente. Cependant, à ce jour, les CAR-T cells en traitement des leucémies aigu¨e myéloblastiques (LAM) et des tumeurs solides n’ont pas rencontré le même succès que dans les leucémies aigue lymphoblastiques B. De plus, peu de données sont disponibles sur la description des CARs après réinjection notamment concernant leur différenciation et leur persistance. Nous avons développé des CAR-T cells ciblant les antigènes tumoraux Lewis-Y (LeY) et GRP78. LeY est exprimé par de nombreux cancers et n’a qu’une très faible expression au niveau des tissus sains, faisant de lui une cible de choix pour l’immunothérapie. GRP78 est étroitement lié à la progression tumorale et à la résistance aux chimiothérapies. Nous avons mis au point une nouvelle génération de CARs en incluant un domaine extracellulaire le CD34. Ce système novateur nous permet de trier les cellules chimériques afin d’obtenir une pure population avant réinjection au patient et de les monitorer afin de comprendre leur différenciation in vivo. Nous avons mis en évidence que certains cancers pédiatriques comme les neuroblastomes, certaines tumeurs cérébrales et les LAM expriment ces deux antigènes tumoraux. Nous avons transduit des cellules T humaines et après les avoir triées avec le CD34 nous avons obtenu une population de CAR-T cells double-positives >90% pour le CAR et le CD34. Nous avons testé nos CAR-T cells et montré leur capacité à secréter de l’interféron gamma et du TNF alpha en présence des cellules cancéreuses LeY+ ou GRP78+ et à détruire spécifiquement les cellules cancéreuses exprimant les antigènes tumoraux LeY et GRP78. La prochaine étape de mon projet est de tester leur efficacité in vivo et d’évaluer leur différenciation phénotypique et leur persistance en utilisant le CD34 pour les monitorer

Remco MOLENAAR

Titre du projet: Forcer les cellules souches du glioblastome à sortir des niches de cellules souches pour augmenter les réponses en radiothérapie: pas de cachette

Lieu du projet: Institut national de biologie,
Ljubljana, Slovénie

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: Le glioblastome est la tumeur cérébrale la plus agressive et notoirement résistante à la chimiothérapie ou à la radiothérapie. Les cellules souches du glioblastome, qui sont protégées de la thérapie par leur environnement direct, également appelées niches de cellules souches du glioblastome, constituent un facteur déterminant de la résistance au traitement par le glioblastome. Les glioblastomes sont très efficaces pour maintenir leurs cellules souches de glioblastome à l'intérieur de ces niches protectrices pendant le traitement en sécrétant des molécules qui se lient aux cellules souches de glioblastome. Le but ultime de mon projet de recherche est de développer un nouveau traitement ciblé qui oblige les cellules souches du glioblastome à quitter leurs niches protectrices pendant la radiothérapie et la chimiothérapie pour améliorer les résultats cliniques des patients atteints de glioblastome.

Edouard OLLIER

Titre du projet: Extension des techniques de me´ta-analyse en réseaux aux me´ta-analyses sur données individuelles de survie : application en cancérologie ORL

Lieu du projet: Unité de recherche clinique,
CHU de Saint Etienne
équipe Oncostat Inserm U1018

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: Les méta-analyses des essais randomisés sont reconnues comme fournissant le plus haut niveau de preuve. L’approche classique de méta- analyse sur données résumées possède certaines limites inhérentes à l’absence d’accès aux données individuelles faisant de la méta-analyse sur données individuelles la méthode de référence. Il en est de même pour la méta-analyse en réseau dont le but est de comparer plus de 2 traitements. Néanmoins, bien que maitrisée pour l’analyse de critères de jugements continus ou binaires, la méta-analyse en réseau sur données de survie individuelles, prépondérantes en oncologie, n’a été que très peu étudiée. Ce constat est dû à des difficultés algorithmiques à l’origine d’un temps de calcul prohibitif incompatible avec l’analyse de réseaux complexes comme retrouvés en pratique courante. Le but de ce projet est de développer un algorithme de méta-analyse des données individuelles rapide d’exécution et simple d’utilisation, afin qu’il soit le plus largement diffusable. La méthode proposée sera appliquée à la comparaison des stratégies thérapeutiques en cancérologie oto-rhino-laryngologique (ORL).

David SCHROEDER

Titre du projet: Etude de mécanismes d’hyperprogression tumorale chez des patients atteints de cancer métastatique et traités par blocage de la voie PD-1

Lieu du projet: Cliniques universitaires Saint Luc,
Bruxelles,
Belgique

.

Résumé du projet de recherche: L’immunothérapie anti-tumorale via le blocage de la voie PD-1 est devenue un traitement courant pour divers types de cancer à un stade avancé. Malheureusement, la plupart des patients ne bénéficient pas de cette immunothérapie et la tumeur progresse. Une forme de progression tumorale précoce et rapide, appelée maladie hyperprogressive, a été observée chez des patients traités par blocage PD-1 et atteints de différents types de cancer. L’hyperprogression est associée avec une survie réduite et ces mécanismes sont inconnus. Mon projet a deux objectives. Premièrement, je vais valider l’association entre hyperprogression et une réduction de survie, ainsi que la fréquence plus élevée d’hyperprogression chez des patients traités par blocage PD-1 par rapport aux patients traités par autres types de traitement oncologique. Deuxièmement, je vais explorer des mécanismes potentiels d’hyperprogression.